Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI), or any other intoxicant, is a serious offense and invites strict law enforcement through fines and penalties, probation and if the case is severe, imprisonment.Signs of driving under the influence vary and include swerving and weaving, stopping in a traffic lane for no reason and minor and major traffic accidents. DUI laws vary from state to state. As, a general rule, you are in trouble if your blood-alcohol concentration level is over .20%.First and foremost, the legal drinking age is twenty-one.
This rule itself leads to the zero tolerance law. In simple terms, this means that since it is illegal for people under 21 to drink alcohol, it is also illegal for them to drive any vehicle with alcohol in their system. So, if you are under 21, and charged with driving while intoxicated, be prepared to have your license taken away.
In California, driving under the influence of alcohol invites stiff penalties, fines and punishment. The offense may also be termed as ""operating while intoxicated"" (OWI) or ""driving while intoxicated"" (DWI). Driving with an excessive blood-alcohol concentration (BAC), means when you are charged with DUI, you will need to undergo a BAC test that can involve testing your blood sample or taking a breath test. As per California law, you can be booked for DUI if the BAC test confirms a concentration level to be higher than .20%.Suppose you are charged with DUI and refuse to take a chemical test.
In this case your driver's license will be suspended, even if you are not found guilty of the DUI charge. In California, the suspension is for a period of one year. A police officer may take your license and serve you with a notice of suspension after a breath-test.
This is because in California a ""per se"" statute provides for immediate suspension if the breath test result is above the legal limit.In California, DUI convictions involve stiff penalties and punishment. The fines vary by the nature and frequency of the crime. While first time offenders are fined $250 to $500, a second conviction within a period of five years may invite a fine to the tune of $500 to $1000. Also, it becomes mandatory for offenders to take a DUI education course.
Keep in mind that these fines and penalties are aggravated with factors such as the presence of a child under 14 years of age in the car or the confirmation of an extremely high blood alcohol content..Los Angeles DUI Lawyers provides detailed information about Los Angeles DUI lawyers, driving under the influence, DUI and fines and more. Los Angeles DUI Lawyers is affiliated with Florida DUI Attorneys Info.
By: Kevin Stith